

93.05% of the balance with a debt yield below 6% in Trepp's September 2026 U.S. private-label CMBS hard-maturity cohort was still performing before maturity.
In dollars, $688.3 million of a roughly $739.7 million below-6% debt-yield balance was still paying. These were not loans already beyond maturity, in foreclosure, or real estate owned (REO). Trepp's hard-maturity cohort includes loans with no remaining contractual extension options.
Debt yield is the property's annual net operating income divided by the loan balance. In plain English, it measures how much property cash flow supports each dollar of debt. Below 6% means less than six cents of annual NOI for every dollar owed.
That does not make the loan a default. It makes the refinancing question unavoidable.
The common shortcut is that a performing loan is a contained risk. It may be. But payment status only tells us whether the borrower made the payments required under the existing loan. It does not tell us whether the property can repay the principal with new debt under today's terms. The loan is paying. The capital structure may still be failing.
A loan can remain current for years under a low legacy coupon, an interest-only structure, or both. The borrower only needs enough cash flow to cover the scheduled payment. Principal repayment can wait until maturity.
A replacement lender asks a different question. How much debt can the property's current income support now?
That lender will usually consider several constraints. Debt yield measures property cash flow relative to the loan. Debt-service coverage compares cash flow with the payments required on the new debt. Loan-to-value compares the requested balance with the property's current value. The smallest loan produced by those tests determines the proceeds available.
Consider a simple illustration, not a market forecast. A property has a $100 million interest-only loan at a 4% coupon and produces $6 million of annual NOI. Its annual interest payment is $4 million, giving it 1.50 times debt-service coverage. The loan can remain current.
But its debt yield is only 6%. If a replacement lender requires an 8% debt yield, that same $6 million of NOI supports only $75 million of new debt:
Maximum replacement debt = $6 million NOI / 8% = $75 million
The borrower faces a $25 million capital gap before refinancing costs and reserves. Lower leverage, a weaker appraisal, amortization, or a higher required debt yield could make the gap larger.
The example does not predict a default. The sponsor may fund the paydown. A new equity investor may provide capital. The existing lender may extend or modify the loan. The property may be sold. Terms may improve before maturity.
But something has to close the gap. Continuing to make the old loan's monthly payment does not do it.
The September private-label CMBS cohort makes this distinction. Trepp reported $2.74 billion of hard maturities across 109 loan pieces representing 100 whole loans. Of that balance, 96.40% was performing, and 50.56% carried a debt yield below 8%.
These percentages are balance weighted. They do not mean that 26.96% of the loans, properties, or borrowers had debt yields below 6%. Trepp also does not disclose the NOI vintage or normalization used in the public debt-yield data.
The figures still show why payment status is an incomplete screen. The vast majority of the cohort was paying, including most of the balance with the weakest debt yield. The existing loan and the replacement loan were answering different questions.
Other CMBS evidence shows why the distinction matters at maturity. KBRA reported that $1.9 billion of loans entered its distress measure in August 2026, and 77.7% involved imminent or actual maturity default. Its denominator was a $343.4 billion KBRA-rated private-label CMBS universe, and its distress measure includes delinquent loans plus loans that are current but specially serviced.
That finding does not establish what will happen to Trepp's September cohort. It shows that maturity, rather than a missed monthly payment, was the dominant reason loans entered KBRA's distress measure during August.
Resolution is not binary either. In a separate study of 54 modified single-asset, single-borrower CMBS 2.0 loans, KBRA found that 65% received extensions, and additional sponsor contributions appeared in 56% of the modifications.
An extension therefore does not necessarily mean a lender ignored the problem. In that selected sample, more time frequently came with more capital, tighter control, or both. The sample includes only modified SASB loans, so it cannot be treated as the outcome distribution for all maturing loans.
The broader maturity totals also require care. The Mortgage Bankers Association estimated that $875 billion of commercial and multifamily mortgage balances held by lenders and investors was scheduled to mature in 2026, or 17% of $5.0 trillion outstanding. The balances were measured as of December 31, 2025, and MBA notes that actual balances at maturity will generally be lower.
That is a much broader universe than Trepp's September private-label CMBS cohort. Combining the two would create false precision. The useful point is not that every maturity represents distress. It is that the maturity total must survive a loan-level refinance test before it becomes an opportunity set.
Credit is available. The Federal Reserve's July 2026 survey found that banks had eased standards for nonfarm nonresidential and multifamily loans during the second quarter. Private-label CMBS issuance reached $76.2 billion during the first seven months of 2026, according to Trepp data reported by Scotsman Guide. Morningstar DBRS reported that 60.0% of fixed-rate CMBS loans reaching final maturity in the first quarter paid off.
Those are not footnotes to dismiss. They are the reason a broad claim that refinancing markets are closed would be wrong.
The market is clearing loans that meet current underwriting, and most fixed-rate loans in the Morningstar DBRS cohort paid off. Easier credit terms, improving property income, higher values, asset sales, and sponsor capital can all reduce or eliminate a gap.
The limitation is equally important. Direction and level are different. The Federal Reserve also reported that standards remained toward the tighter end of their range since 2005. Issuance measures loans that cleared the market, not the loans that sought financing and failed. A 60.0% payoff rate says most paid off, but it does not make the remaining outcomes interchangeable.
The correct conclusion is narrower. Refinancing is available, but availability at the market level does not establish adequate proceeds for a specific property.
The practical response is not to predict defaults. It is to identify the capital gap and the parties that control its resolution.
The first test determines whether the income is real and repeatable. The second converts that income into supportable proceeds. The third identifies what must be funded or negotiated. The fourth determines who has leverage if the first three tests do not produce a clean repayment.
A gap with a credible, committed funding source is different from a gap dependent on favorable markets. A temporary liquidity problem is different from a permanent value impairment. A borrower-controlled extension is different from a resolution controlled by a special servicer or mezzanine lender.
Those distinctions matter more than the label attached to the loan.
Start with the source of repayment. “Current” and “no realized losses” are historical statements. Ask how each material maturity is expected to repay principal: replacement debt, sale proceeds, sponsor equity, fund reserves, an extension, or some combination.
Then test the manager's track record at the capital event. For loans that reached maturity during the last eight quarters, how many paid at par, required a paydown, received an extension, were modified, moved to special servicing, or resolved at a loss? Portfolio delinquency does not answer that question.
Strategy selection should follow the same discipline. A debt fund may earn attractive income yet have limited control over collateral or intercreditor decisions. A rescue-capital strategy may be funding a temporary gap, or it may be absorbing a value shortfall that the existing capital structure cannot bear. Opportunistic equity may buy an asset at a discount, but it may also contribute capital beneath a creditor that controls timing and remedies.
Capital-call risk deserves explicit treatment. If refinancing proceeds fall short, can the vehicle call additional capital? Are investors obligated and able to fund it? If they do not, who is diluted, subordinated, or forced to sell? If reserves are used instead, what other portfolio needs go unfunded?
Control completes the analysis. The party writing the new check does not automatically control the outcome. Covenants, servicing rules, extension rights, guaranties, consent requirements, and intercreditor agreements determine who can delay, force, or reshape a resolution.
Large maturity totals can produce opportunities. They can also produce noise.
An investable opportunity requires more than a borrower facing pressure. It requires an entry price that compensates for the risk, a defensible basis, a credible source of repayment, and enough control to protect the thesis if the expected resolution does not occur.
Payment status is one observation. Debt yield is another. Neither establishes the outcome by itself.
The loan is paying. The capital structure may still be failing. The investment question begins where the payment record ends: how large is the gap, who funds it, and who controls the resolution?
Sources and methodology
Trepp, September 2, 2026: September 2026 CMBS Hard Maturities Reveal Higher Refinance Risk Despite Smaller Cohort. Used for the September private-label CMBS cohort, payment status, debt-yield distribution, loan-piece and whole-loan counts, and hard-maturity definition.
KBRA, September 1, 2026: CMBS Loan Performance Trends: August 2026. Used for the August new-distress balance, maturity-default share, rated universe, and distress definition.
KBRA, July 15, 2026: Time Is Not Free: Loan Modifications in SASB CMBS 2.0. Used only for statistics disclosed in the public summary of the 54-loan modified SASB sample.
Morningstar DBRS, April 21, 2026: U.S. CMBS Q1 2026 Maturity Research. Used for the fixed-rate CMBS payoff rate. Floating-rate SASB loans are excluded from that measure.
Federal Reserve, August 3, 2026: July 2026 Senior Loan Officer Opinion Survey. Used for the direction and level of bank CRE lending standards.
Mortgage Bankers Association, February 9, 2026: 17 Percent of Commercial and Multifamily Mortgage Balances to Mature in 2026. Used for the broad 2026 maturity estimate and its limitations.
Scotsman Guide, August 13, 2026: CMBS Issuance Passes $76 Billion in the First Seven Months of 2026. Used as secondary reporting of Trepp issuance data.
Research cutoff: September 7, 2026. All Trepp cohort percentages are balance weighted. The September cohort covers U.S. private-label CMBS only and does not represent bank, life-company, agency, CRE CLO, debt-fund, or total commercial real estate debt. Trepp's public material does not disclose the NOI vintage or normalization used in its debt-yield calculations.
The $100 million example is illustrative arithmetic, not an observed loan, forecast, or market benchmark. The 4% coupon and 8% replacement debt-yield requirement are explicit assumptions. No aggregate capital gap, default probability, or loss estimate is inferred from the September cohort.
